pgmfi.org

Hacking up Honda's ECU
It is currently Sun Jun 24, 2018 7:57 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 54 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 9:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2006 3:39 pm
Posts: 133
Cool I'll Try it out then.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 0-5v O2 Sensor Input
PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 2:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 4:45 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Mobile, AL
Am a bit confused so just let me know if my understanding of the mod is correct.
1) get a 10uF capacitor
2) remove R5 resistor
3) de-solder the right most hole below c70
4) run one leg of the capacitor through the de-soldered hole below c70 and the other leg through the right hole in R5 ( right hole would be the one towards the area where we put the 29c256 chip in)
5) this am confused about – the c3 pad.. the excess lead that comes out through the R5 hole goes where? What do we do with c3? Do we take it out or let it be there?
thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 0-5v O2 Sensor Input
PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 6:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 3:01 am
Posts: 2945
Location: Tampa bay, Florida
You remove R5 as that is what feeds the input to the ADC circuit and limits the voltage down. C3 connects to the output of the circuit. The capacitor you are adding smooths out the voltage input to prevent small spikes. The negative lead goes to ground (Which is the hole you desolder that had nothing in it).. The positive lead you use to bridge the input (one of the pins to R5) and output (One of the pins to C3) together, bypassing the limiter circuit. Do it exactly as you see the line in the circuit. Only remove R5!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 0-5v O2 Sensor Input
PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 4:45 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Mobile, AL
k ..frm what i understand is

1) get the capacitor (10uF)
2) remove R5 resistor
3) solder in one leg of the 10uF cap in the hole desoldered below c70
4) the other leg goes to R5 and is joined with c3 right hole

attached is a diagram ..

btw how would u know which one is positive leg and which one is ground of the capacitor?

thanks


Attachments:
5v mod.jpg
5v mod.jpg [ 12.19 KiB | Viewed 10138 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 0-5v O2 Sensor Input
PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 12:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 4:45 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Mobile, AL
anyone?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 0-5v O2 Sensor Input
PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 8:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 3:01 am
Posts: 2945
Location: Tampa bay, Florida
10 uf cap is normally radial.

It usually has plastic wrap around the canister and has - - - marks on the negative side..
also, if it is new cap, the negative lead is shorter than the positive.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 0-5v O2 Sensor Input
PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 8:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 3:01 am
Posts: 2945
Location: Tampa bay, Florida
it's difficult to show you jumper from top side..
the pictures in the beginning of this topic show it best that I can.
See this I added a little paint.. purple circle is the negative lead in the hole you solder to, the red lead is positive lead and jumpers from one pin to another. it must be exact holes shown or you could disable something else.. that's why I left the image zoomed out so you can see it in reference to everything else.


Attachments:
Bottom_Jumpered.jpg
Bottom_Jumpered.jpg [ 87.23 KiB | Viewed 10167 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 0-5v O2 Sensor Input
PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 4:45 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Mobile, AL
so basically its the same way u do like in the jpeg i posted. just that the positive lead goes in the right hole of R5 and then goes to the left side of C3 (instead of the right side as shown in my jpeg)

thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 0-5v O2 Sensor Input
PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 8:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 11:07 pm
Posts: 10
does it matter what voltage the cap is , as long as its a 10 uf ? what i mean is, can i use a 20 volt or 16 volt 10uf cap


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 0-5v O2 Sensor Input
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 2:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 4:45 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Mobile, AL
yes you can use the 16v or the 20 volts cap .. as long as they are 10uf..
i am using 20 volts 10uf cap myself
goodluck


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 0-5v O2 Sensor Input
PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:38 pm 
Bump for a must-do modification! Just did it and it works great!


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 0-5v O2 Sensor Input
PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 7:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 3:01 am
Posts: 2945
Location: Tampa bay, Florida
longfrogers wrote:
does it matter what voltage the cap is , as long as its a 10 uf ? what i mean is, can i use a 20 volt or 16 volt 10uf cap


The volts rating on the cap is the max volts you can apply without it blowing up in your face.. Always use something greater than the voltage you expect to see... in this case, about 14v. 16v is OK, 20v is better.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 0-5v O2 Sensor Input
PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2008 8:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 12:41 am
Posts: 76
Location: Jacksonville, FL
these directions still seem to be a bit vague....

its a pretty critical mod, i think directions should be a little more straight forward, and some larger, more detailed photos..


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 0-5v O2 Sensor Input
PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2008 6:08 pm 
Offline
PGMFI Elf

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 2:17 am
Posts: 1410
Location: Phoenix, AZ
It's not critical. There's 3 other actual 0-5v inputs that could be used instead.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 0-5v O2 Sensor Input
PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2008 6:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 11:52 am
Posts: 2034
Location: Morgan Hill, Ca
Smooth1 wrote:
It's not critical. There's 3 other actual 0-5v inputs that could be used instead.



exactly; like the ELD, right next to a solid power junction in the engine bay ;)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 54 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group